Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
how to make my TP-LINK router invisible?
12-23-2012, 03:16 AM
Post: #1
how to make my TP-LINK router invisible?

Ads

Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-23-2012, 03:25 AM
Post: #2
 
set it to not broadcast its name
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-23-2012, 03:25 AM
Post: #3
 
Set it to hide your SSID (router custom name)

Ads

Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-23-2012, 03:25 AM
Post: #4
 
You have to log on to the router and go to the wireless settings. (Note: the logon details are not the WiFi name and pass phrase.) In the wireless settings, look for a setting that says something like:

Disable SSID broadcast
or
Hide SSID

Please be aware that when you disable the SSID in the router, then the devices that are connecting to the router will have to transmit the network name. Unless you remove the network settings or disable the WiFi on devices like your mobile phone, it will continue advertising the network name when you are away from home as it tries to make a connection with your router.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-23-2012, 03:25 AM
Post: #5
 
Hiding the SSID only means that it won't show up in someones wireless list. A hacker can learn it is there anyway.

If you are asking to make it invisible to say, your ISP. They don't care. However, you can't really hide anything completely when it is on a network.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-23-2012, 03:25 AM
Post: #6
 
Agree with David.
You can disable the SSID (wireless name) broadcast or hide it, but using a simple tool like the "inSSIDer" would detect it anyway.
If you want to do this anyway, first have all your devices connect to it and then disable the broadcast. Otherwise, you would need to manually add the wireless connection on each device.

From the past experience, if you disable SSID broadcast, your client devices (computer, mobile phone) may have difficulty connect to it at times. I would just leave it broadcast and set a strong password with WPA2-PSK AES security.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)