Eagle Eye 1 Forum
Why is it necessary to have wifi and 3g network on Amazon's Kindle? - Printable Version

+- Eagle Eye 1 Forum (http://eagleeye1.com)
+-- Forum: Hardware Forums (/forum-13.html)
+--- Forum: Wifi Card (/forum-17.html)
+--- Thread: Why is it necessary to have wifi and 3g network on Amazon's Kindle? (/thread-70335.html)



Why is it necessary to have wifi and 3g network on Amazon's Kindle? - lowveil866 - 10-31-2012 06:40 AM

Also, does this mean you don't have to be in the range of wifi to get on the internet? Does it cost montly or yearly for the free wifi and 3g?


- Mark Madchek - 10-31-2012 06:48 AM

No


- hypernover3rk - 10-31-2012 06:48 AM

3G is if your going to use it out of your home basically

stick with wi-fi


- Uncle Pennybags - 10-31-2012 06:48 AM

It's not necessary. The Kindle will work just fine with wi-fi only. Yes, you do have to be in range of a wi-fi network to get on the internet.

The 3G version just allows you to use the Kindle to access the store or internet from practically anywhere.

Both the wi-fi and 3G is free.

PS...if you are thinking of using the Kindle as a portable web browser, think again. Oh, it'll do it, but it's slow, it's tedious to navigate using arrow keys to move your cursor over the screen, and the whole web page is displayed on that 6" screen, making it very hard to read, unless you zoom in on sections.